Baramulla district is one of the 20 districts in the Indian Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir. Baramulla city is the administrative headquarters of the district. The district is situated at 34.1980° N Longitude and 74.3636° E Latitude, extending over an area of 4190 km², comprises of 524 villages (Census Villages). The town is located on the either banks of river Jehlum, about 55 Kms away from the capital city of Srinagar.

The North-western district of valley, Baramulla, meaning “Boar’s Molar Place”, derives its name from two Sanskrit words Varaha(Sanskrit:Boar) and Mul(Sanskrit:Molar). In Nilmathpurna, the earliest epic of Kashmir, the Kashmir Valley was once a lake called “Satisaras,” the lake of Parvati.Read more…

Lt Gov
Hon'ble Lt. Governor Sh. Manoj Sinha
Deputy Commissioner Dr. Syed Sehrish Asgar (IAS)


  • Citizen's Call center -155300
  • Child Helpline - 1098
  • Women Helpline - 1091
  • Crime Stopper - 1090

DC Baramulla

District Information Centre Baramulla